*Ask Us

Ask Us

Not sure where to start? We are happy to help!

Chat with us during library hours using the on-screen chat box or submit your question here anytime and we'll get back to you with the answer.

Art & Literature

BIR Entertainment

Provides information on about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles. Search by artist, title, or genre.

Bloom's Literature

Includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions plus author biographies and character analyses; full-length poems, full-text reference books, full-length videos of classic plays and films and more.

Book Index with Reviews

Provides information on over 5 million book titles in a wide range of formats. Includes 800,000 full-text reviews from sources like Library JournalSchool Library JournalPublishers WeeklyBooklist, and others.

Craftsy

Step-by-step video instruction on a variety of creative crafts. Includes more than 140 hours of how-to instructional  content from Craftsy courses in baking, cake decorating, knitting, quilting, and sewing. A 7-day pass gives you full access to content from Craftsy. When your pass expires, you can return to get another.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy-to-understand and engaging format.

National Jukebox (Related Resource)

 Includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) (Related Resource)

A digital library that aggregates data for millions of books, photographs, films, and more from institutions across the United States.

WikiArt: Visual Art Encyclopedia (Related Resource)

Online home for visual arts from all around the world, featuring some 150,000 artworks by 2,500 artists, localized on 5 languages.

Automotive

ALLData

Diagnostic and repair information. 1982-2020 vehicles. DTCs, TSBs & Diagrams. Service & Repair; Testing & Inspection; TSBs & Recalls; Specifications; and Parts & Labor. Available on public PCs inside the Corporate Parkway, Kathryn Linnemann, Middendorf-Kredell, and Spencer Road branches only.

Chilton Library

Find step-by-step auto repair instructions, maintenance schedules, recalls, diagrams, and more. Search by specific year, make, and model. ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams.

Consumer Reports

Digital magazine - including Consumer Reports Buying Guide and Consumer Reports on Health.

ConsumerReports.org

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips, and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.

Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy-to-understand and engaging format.

Gale in Context: Biography

People throughout history, around the world, across disciplines and subjects. Search by birth, death, place, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender.

World Book Timelines

Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history. (Optimized for tablets.) 

Books & Reading

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary

Searchable full-text for more than 1,300 nonfiction titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School

Searchable full-text for more than 2,700 nonfiction titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School

Searchable full text for more than 2,700 nonfiction titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.

Book Connections

Resources to engage readers of over 260,000 books, including Meet-the-Author videos, audio name pronunciations, audiobook readings, discussion guides, vocabulary lists, and more.

EBSCO Public Library Collection

33,000 downloadable eBooks, including fiction and nonfiction, for adults and kids. 

Gale eBooks

eBooks on a variety of topics in an easy-to-navigate collection.

hoopla

Instantly borrow digital ebooks, audiobooks, movies, music, and more - 24/7 with your library card.

NextReads Newsletters

Sign-up for a NextReads newsletter to stay informed about new books in your favorite genre.

NoveList K-8 Plus

Browse hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels and look for award-winning titles.

NoveList Plus

Find recommendations of fiction and nonfiction titles for adults and teens. Includes helpful features to aid with series information, read-alikes, and other book lists. Links directly to the library catalog.

OverDrive

Fiction and nonfiction ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more. To read online download or stream to your device using the Libby app.

OverDrive for Kids

Popular, classic, fiction and nonfiction books that kids want to listen to or read.

TeachingBooks

An engaging collection for resources that brings books to life for students and educators.

Tumblebook Library

Animated, talking picture books for kids. Connect on any device that has an internet connection.

Business & Nonprofit

2-1-1 Counts (Related Resource)

 2-1-1 Counts is the first tool to provide real-time, searchable and visual presentations of data from 2-1-1 call centers across the nation.

Academic Search Elite

Full-text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Business Source Premier

More than 2,300 full-text magazines and journals covering every area of business. Search by NAICS/Industry Code, Duns Number, and more.

EDC (Related Resource)

EDC Business and Community Partners helps foster the growth of business in St. Charles County.

Financial Literacy

Makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest, plan for college and retirement, and avoid fraud and schemes.

FindLaw: Small Business Law (Related Resource)

Covers everything from obtaining financing and hiring employees to chooseing the right insurance policies and filing taxes. 

Gale Business: DemographicsNow

Provides a wealth of highly detailed demographic data that spans the entire United States - making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insights needed for opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products and services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and much more.

Gale Business: Plan Builder

Take a step-by-step approach to completing your plan for your business or nonprofit organization, and position yourself for success. Learn the elements you need to know to write bylaws, secure funding, and build your non-profit.

Gale Courses

Available 24/7, Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month and lessons are assigned twice a week.

Gale OneFile: Agriculture

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.

Gale OneFile: Business

Research a company or make better investment decisions with full-text access to nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

Information on computer-related product introductions; news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory

Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Gale OneFile: Information Science

Provides access to content essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers with topics covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology including usability, metadata architecture, publishing, business information, and more.

GCFLearnFree (Related Resource)

Build your future. Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life.

IRS Stay Exempt (Related Resource)

A series of dynamic and comprehensive tax courses that can help your tax-exempt organization maintain its exempt status and meet its filing requirements.

Legal GPS

Legal Path for entrepreneurs that helps navigate you through complex legal issues to help you start and grow your business.

LinkedIn Learning

Leading online learning company that helps anyone develop the business, software, technology, and creative skills needed to achieve personal and professional goals. Please note: if you're using the app, our library ID is stchlibrary.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

Reference Solutions

Provides profiles of public and private company and individual residence information, including information on 675,000 doctors and 180,000 dentists. Combines the power of the premier business reference and research tool with the world's #1 job site, indeed.com.

Regional Business News

Comprehensive full-text coverage of regional business publications.

Wall Street Journal (at Home)

Access The Wall Street Journal from anywhere! Once you create your account,  you can start reading immediately. Your access will be available for the next 3 days. After 3 days, simply come back, click the above link again, and login as an existing user with the same username and password you originally created.

Wall Street Journal (in Library)

U.S. business-focused daily newspaper published by Dow Jones & Company.

Current Issues & Topics

Academic Search Elite

Full-text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Explora Elementary

Complete articles from dozens of the most popular elementary school magazines. You'll find easy-to-read encyclopedia entries written specifically for kids and more than one million images.

Explora Teens

Discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health and sports.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Covers today's hottest social issues from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Trangender Issues Collection

Nearly 40 full-text journals cover gender studies, family and marital issues, and health. Coverage from 1980.

GreenFILE

Focused entirely on environmental topics, GreenFILE is an ideal place to begin any research that is concerned with renewable energy or materials or with sustainability.

LGBTQ+ Source

Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. Also includes an LGBT thesaurus.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

ProCon.org (Related Resource)

ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.

Educator Resources

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)

Authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.

Explora Educator's Edition

Highlights content relevant to teachers including lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards, and links to valuable education websites.

Find Food Support (Related Resource)

Google has created a locator tool that you can use to find your nearest food bank, food pantry or school lunch program pickup site.

Gale Courses

Available 24/7, Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month and lessons are assigned twice a week.

Gale OneFile: Information Science

Provides access to content essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers with topics covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology including usability, metadata architecture, publishing, business information, and more.

KidsHealth.org (Related Resource)

Four sites in one: with sections for parents, kids, teens and educators, KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Provides indexing and abstracting coverage of topics that include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management, among others.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

Professional Development Collection (Education)

Full text for nearly 520 high-quality education journals including Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal and more.

Science Reference Center

Search magazine & reference articles, experiments, biographies, images & videos on various science topics, including more than 275,000 high-quality science images from National Geographic, UPI, Getty, NASA and Nature Picture Library.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals

TeachingBooks

An engaging collection for resources that brings books to life for students and educators.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) (Related Resource)

A digital library that aggregates data for millions of books, photographs, films, and more from institutions across the United States.

Encyclopedias & Facts

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Excelente contenido del World Book editorial, medios ricos, y las características interactivas en español para niños y jóvenes.

Explora Quick Search

Easy-to-browse categories are organized by popular topics, and topic overviews provide users with a starting point for research.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

A general encyclopedia containing over 25,000 information segments appropriate for the research needs of elementary and middle school students.

Gale eBooks

eBooks on a variety of topics in an easy-to-navigate collection.

World Book Online

A suite of research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.

eNewsstand

America's Obituaries & Death Notices

Largest and comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Related Resource)

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-Current. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Flipster

Full color, interactive digital magazines with no holds and no checkout periods. 

Gale General OneFile

General interest periodicals and news, including travel guides, NPR programs, and reference sets on a variety of topics.

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines

Provides a strong focus on current events, sports, science and health. Titles include Consumer Reports (1976-Current); Cosmopolitan (1977-Current); Esquire (1980-Current); Golf Digest (1998-Current); Time (1923-Current) and more.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

National Geographic Kids

The complete run of the magazine from 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos, and images. High-quality informational texts are available for primary, upper elementary, and middle school English Language Arts, social studies, and science classrooms. 

National Geographic People Animals and the World

Unlimited access to National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present full-text books on travel, science & technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples & cultures. Readers will also find videos, full-color maps, and hundreds of National Geographic images.

Newspaper Archive

Contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as 1607.

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national and international newspapers, including Toronto Star (1085-Current) and Christian Science Monitor (1995-Current).

New York Times (at Home)

Library cardholders can enjoy free and unlimited access to news stories, multimedia content, and special features on the New York Times website and app. Access is free but first-time users will need to create an account with the New York Times.

New York Times (in Library)

Library cardholders can enjoy free and unlimited access to news stories, multimedia content, and special features on the New York Times website and app. Access is free but first-time users will need to create an account with the New York Times

OverDrive

Fiction and nonfiction ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more. To read online download or stream to your device using the Libby app.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - present)

Searchable database with coverage back to 1874.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Digital Edition (2008 - 90 days ago)

Scanned archives of the Post-Dispatch back to 2008.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Historical (1874-2003)

The complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Wall Street Journal (at Home)

Access The Wall Street Journal from anywhere! Once you create your account,  you can start reading immediately. Your access will be available for the next 3 days. After 3 days, simply come back, click the above link again, and login as an existing user with the same username and password you originally created.

Wall Street Journal (in Library)

U.S. business-focused daily newspaper published by Dow Jones & Company.

Entertainment

hoopla

Instantly borrow digital ebooks, audiobooks, movies, music, and more - 24/7 with your library card.

Kanopy

More than 30,000 of the world's best films, including award-winning documentaries, rare and hard-to-find titles, film festival favorites, indie and classic movies, and world cinema. 

Kanopy Kids

Kanopy has partnered with Common Sense Media™ to provide developmentally appropriate age ratings on Kanopy Kids. Parents can also choose to implement parental controls for additional security.

Foreign Language & ESL

BiblioEnfants

 (Pour l'accès à domicile, cliquez ici) Une collection de livres animés et parlants, ainsi que des jeux, des outils pédagogiques et plus encore!

Biblioteca Tumble

¡Una colección de libros parlantes y animadas, además de juegos, herramientas educativas y más!

Duolingo (Related Resource)

Duolingo's adaptive experience has gamified elements to make language learning more fun and effective. 100 million students are learning a language with Duolingo.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Excelente contenido del World Book editorial, medios ricos, y las características interactivas en español para niños y jóvenes.

GCFLearnFree (Related Resource)

Build your future. Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life.

Kanopy ESL Instruction Videos

Featuring English as a Second Language instruction videos from Global English and Cutting Edge. Videos may be used in self-study or classroom instruction as public performance rights are included.

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

Rosetta Stone

Provides online language learning in an immersion environment, accessible anywhere and at any time on mobile and on the web.

Note: To use the mobile app:

  1. Download the app from your app store, but do not open it.
  2. Login to Rosetta Stone on your device, using this link.
  3. Once you're logged in, tap Launch Rosetta Stone Foundations and the app will automatically open.  

If you ever want to switch your language or view your progress reports, you will need to go through the library’s Rosetta Stone button.

Genealogy & Local History

African American Historical Serials Collection

Documents the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. Includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports from African American religious organizations.

America's Obituaries & Death Notices

Largest and comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.

Ancestry Library Edition

Available inside any Library branch. Online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. The database includes the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, and Passenger and Immigration Lists Index.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States

Designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Related Resource)

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-Current. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Family Search

Over 1.5 million microfilms (ca. 1.5 billion images) have been digitized, including the most requested collections based on microfilm loan records worldwide. Digital images may have contractual, data privacy, or other restrictions. Family Search restricts access to some materials to inside the library only.

Fold3 Library Edition

Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. 

HeritageQuest Online

A collection of research materials for tracing family lineage and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies.

Missouri Digital Heritage (Related Resource)

More than 9 million records, including collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.

MyHeritage Library Edition

Access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.

Newspaper Archive

Contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as 1607.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Digital Edition (2008 - 90 days ago)

Scanned archives of the Post-Dispatch back to 2008.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Historical (1874-2003)

The complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) (Related Resource)

A digital library that aggregates data for millions of books, photographs, films, and more from institutions across the United States.

U.S. National Archives (Related Resource)

Public database of the federal records of the United States of America, including Founding Documents, military and naturalization records, historic journals, photographs, and more.

Government

Brainfuse VetNow

Supports veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. 

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

Congress.gov (Related Resource)

The official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

Gale Business: DemographicsNow

Provides a wealth of highly detailed demographic data that spans the entire United States - making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insights needed for opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products and services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and much more.

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence

Comprehensive periodical collection supporting state and military affairs. 

GovInfo

Free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Missouri State Agency Databases Libguide (Related Resource)

A guide from the State Library to over 200 databases.

St. Charles County Government (Related Resource)

Links to county government sites and offices.

Health & Wellness

Academic Search Elite

Full-text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Consumer Health Complete

Patron-centered information covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

ConsumerReports.org

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips, and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.

Find Food Support (Related Resource)

Google has created a locator tool that you can use to find your nearest food bank, food pantry or school lunch program pickup site.

Gale Health and Wellness

Consumer health resource providing authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

For students, consumers and health professionals alike, Health and Medicine provides up-to-date information on a variety of health care topics.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

More than 6 million articles in a comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting all aspects of psychology.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Trangender Issues Collection

Nearly 40 full-text journals cover gender studies, family and marital issues, and health. Coverage from 1980.

KidsHealth.org (Related Resource)

Four sites in one: with sections for parents, kids, teens and educators, KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.

LGBTQ+ Source

Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. Also includes an LGBT thesaurus.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

MedlinePlus (Related Resource)

The National Institutes of Health's Website for patients and their families and friends brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in a language you can understand.

Reference Solutions

Provides profiles of public and private company and individual residence information, including information on 675,000 doctors and 180,000 dentists. Combines the power of the premier business reference and research tool with the world's #1 job site, indeed.com.

Teen Health and Wellness

Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying and LGBTQ+ information. It has recently been updated to meet the needs of today’s teens and with new content on bullying, suicide, vaping, opioid abuse, gender identity, school safety, sexual harassment, COVID-19 and more.

History

Academic Search Elite

Full-text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

African American Historical Serials Collection

Documents the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. Includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports from African American religious organizations.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States

Designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.

BlackPast.org (Related Resource)

13,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.

Fold3 Library Edition

Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. 

Gale in Context: Biography

People throughout history, around the world, across disciplines and subjects. Search by birth, death, place, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

For students, consumers and health professionals alike, Health and Medicine provides up-to-date information on a variety of health care topics.

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence

Comprehensive periodical collection supporting state and military affairs. 

Gale OneFile: World History

Covering both U.S. and world history topics, the database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video

History Reference Center

Covering both U.S. and world history topics, the database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.

LGBTQ+ Source

Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. Also includes an LGBT thesaurus.

Newspaper Archive

Contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as 1607.

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Historical (1874-2003)

The complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Telling All Americans' Stories (Related Resource)

A celebration of history and culture across the United States. Discover national parks, heritage areas, historic places and more along with guides to plan your travel and lesson plans to teach and learn.

World Book Timelines

Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history. (Optimized for tablets.) 

World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples: United States of America (Related Resource)

Directory of minorities and indigenous peoples of the United States.

Online Learning

Brainfuse HelpNow

Offers live tutor access for homework help, skills building and test preparation. After taking a quiz, the user can connect directly to a live tutor from the test center without having to return to the main page.

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

Brainfuse VetNow

Supports veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. 

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

College Navigator (Related Resource)

Find the right college for you - find financial aid, build a list of schools to compare, explore careers, and more.

Craftsy

Step-by-step video instruction on a variety of creative crafts. Includes more than 140 hours of how-to instructional  content from Craftsy courses in baking, cake decorating, knitting, quilting, and sewing. A 7-day pass gives you full access to content from Craftsy. When your pass expires, you can return to get another.

DigitalLearn.org (Related Resource)

If you are new to computers, haven’t used them for a while or are a little unsure and uncomfortable, DigitalLearn has the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.

Digital Literacy

Empowers learners with the digital citizenship skills needed to navigate today's virtual landscape.

Driving-Tests.org

Free practice tests for MO Department of Revenue’s written examinations.

Early Learning

Interactive online resource for preschoolers and children in early elementary grades. Includes child’s first encyclopedia, stories in English and Spanish, early reading skills practice, vocabulary and comprehension, fun and educational games, videos, and print & do worksheets.

Financial Literacy

Makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest, plan for college and retirement, and avoid fraud and schemes.

Gale Courses

Available 24/7, Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month and lessons are assigned twice a week.

GCFLearnFree (Related Resource)

Build your future. Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life.

Internet Help from Niche Academy

Learn to use popular social media platforms and all things Google with these video lessons.

LearningExpress (at Home)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LearningExpress (in Library)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LinkedIn Learning

Leading online learning company that helps anyone develop the business, software, technology, and creative skills needed to achieve personal and professional goals. Please note: if you're using the app, our library ID is stchlibrary.

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) (Related Resource)

A digital library that aggregates data for millions of books, photographs, films, and more from institutions across the United States.

Vidcode

With Vidcode, you’ll learn to code while creating amazing visual projects like meme makers, Snapchat filters, and video games! First time users will need to request an account (link below). Once you have your account, click the Vidcode link to login and get started!

Personal Finance

ConsumerReports.org

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips, and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.

Financial Literacy

Makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest, plan for college and retirement, and avoid fraud and schemes.

Gale Courses

Available 24/7, Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month and lessons are assigned twice a week.

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory

Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

GCFLearnFree (Related Resource)

Build your future. Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life.

LinkedIn Learning

Leading online learning company that helps anyone develop the business, software, technology, and creative skills needed to achieve personal and professional goals. Please note: if you're using the app, our library ID is stchlibrary.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

The Morningstar Investment Research Center provides information on 7,500 publicly traded stocks, 23,000 mutual funds, 750 Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs), and industry information on 12 sectors of the economy.

Value Line Research Center

Accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. Comprehensive information on 1,700 stocks, 1,800 small and mid-cap stocks, and 15,000 mutual funds. 

Wall Street Journal (at Home)

Access The Wall Street Journal from anywhere! Once you create your account,  you can start reading immediately. Your access will be available for the next 3 days. After 3 days, simply come back, click the above link again, and login as an existing user with the same username and password you originally created.

Wall Street Journal (in Library)

U.S. business-focused daily newspaper published by Dow Jones & Company.

Wirecutter (Related Resource)

A list of the best gear and gadgets for people who want to save the time and stress of figuring out what to buy. Recommendations are made through a combination of vigorous reporting, interviewing, and testing by teams of veteran journalists, scientists, and researchers independent of commissions or other revenue.

Science

Academic Search Elite

Full-text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Gale OneFile: Agriculture

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.

GreenFILE

Focused entirely on environmental topics, GreenFILE is an ideal place to begin any research that is concerned with renewable energy or materials or with sustainability.

LGBTQ+ Source

Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. Also includes an LGBT thesaurus.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

PowerKnowledge Earth & Space

Designed for learners in grades 3 to 6, informs about earth cycles, ecosystems and biomes, rocks, environmental issues, space and more. 

PowerKnowledge Life Science

Designed for learners in grades 3 to 6, topics include animals, endangered and extinct species, food chains, green living, habitats, human body, plants and more.

PowerKnowledge Physical Science

Designed for learners in grades 3 to 6, topics include atoms, molecules, elements and the periodic table, energy and matter, force and motion and temperature and measurement. 

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

Science Reference Center

Search magazine & reference articles, experiments, biographies, images & videos on various science topics, including more than 275,000 high-quality science images from National Geographic, UPI, Getty, NASA and Nature Picture Library.

Vidcode

With Vidcode, you’ll learn to code while creating amazing visual projects like meme makers, Snapchat filters, and video games! First time users will need to request an account (link below). Once you have your account, click the Vidcode link to login and get started!

Student Resources for Kids

AR Bookfinder

Accelerated Reader Bookfinder allows you to search in English or Spanish by book level, Lexile™ measure, interest level, title, author, fiction/nonfiction, subject, award winners, state lists, CCSS Exemplars, and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary

Searchable full-text for more than 1,300 nonfiction titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, and more.

Brainfuse HelpNow

Offers live tutor access for homework help, skills building and test preparation. After taking a quiz, the user can connect directly to a live tutor from the test center without having to return to the main page.

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

Early Learning

Interactive online resource for preschoolers and children in early elementary grades. Includes child’s first encyclopedia, stories in English and Spanish, early reading skills practice, vocabulary and comprehension, fun and educational games, videos, and print & do worksheets.

Explora Elementary

Complete articles from dozens of the most popular elementary school magazines. You'll find easy-to-read encyclopedia entries written specifically for kids and more than one million images.

Flipster

Full color, interactive digital magazines with no holds and no checkout periods. 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

A general encyclopedia containing over 25,000 information segments appropriate for the research needs of elementary and middle school students.

Gale General OneFile

General interest periodicals and news, including travel guides, NPR programs, and reference sets on a variety of topics.

Gale In Context: Elementary

Through newspaper and magazine articles, videos, images, and graphics, elementary students can learn about everything from animals and outer space to famous artists and favorite athletes.

Kanopy Kids

Kanopy has partnered with Common Sense Media™ to provide developmentally appropriate age ratings on Kanopy Kids. Parents can also choose to implement parental controls for additional security.

KidsHealth.org (Related Resource)

Four sites in one: with sections for parents, kids, teens and educators, KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.

LearningExpress (at Home)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LearningExpress (in Library)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

National Geographic Kids

The complete run of the magazine from 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos, and images. High-quality informational texts are available for primary, upper elementary, and middle school English Language Arts, social studies, and science classrooms. 

National Geographic People Animals and the World

Unlimited access to National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present full-text books on travel, science & technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples & cultures. Readers will also find videos, full-color maps, and hundreds of National Geographic images.

NoveList K-8 Plus

Browse hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels and look for award-winning titles.

OverDrive

Fiction and nonfiction ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more. To read online download or stream to your device using the Libby app.

OverDrive for Kids

Popular, classic, fiction and nonfiction books that kids want to listen to or read.

PowerKnowledge Earth & Space

Designed for learners in grades 3 to 6, informs about earth cycles, ecosystems and biomes, rocks, environmental issues, space and more. 

PowerKnowledge Life Science

Designed for learners in grades 3 to 6, topics include animals, endangered and extinct species, food chains, green living, habitats, human body, plants and more.

PowerKnowledge Physical Science

Designed for learners in grades 3 to 6, topics include atoms, molecules, elements and the periodic table, energy and matter, force and motion and temperature and measurement. 

TeachingBooks

An engaging collection for resources that brings books to life for students and educators.

Tumblebook Library

Animated, talking picture books for kids. Connect on any device that has an internet connection.

Vidcode

With Vidcode, you’ll learn to code while creating amazing visual projects like meme makers, Snapchat filters, and video games! First time users will need to request an account (link below). Once you have your account, click the Vidcode link to login and get started!

World Book Kids

Engaging content, features, and tools developed especially for young students. (Optimized for tablets.) 

World Book Student

Meets the research needs of students in primary/elementary and middle school with thousands of articles and multimedia. (Optimized for tablets.)

World Book Timelines

Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history. (Optimized for tablets.) 

World Book World Resources

World Book Atlas, Interactive Maps, and Compare Places.

Student Resources for Teens

Academic Search Elite

Full-text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School

Searchable full-text for more than 2,700 nonfiction titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School

Searchable full text for more than 2,700 nonfiction titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.

Brainfuse HelpNow

Offers live tutor access for homework help, skills building and test preparation. After taking a quiz, the user can connect directly to a live tutor from the test center without having to return to the main page.

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

College Navigator (Related Resource)

Find the right college for you - find financial aid, build a list of schools to compare, explore careers, and more.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy-to-understand and engaging format.

Digital Literacy

Empowers learners with the digital citizenship skills needed to navigate today's virtual landscape.

Driving-Tests.org

Free practice tests for MO Department of Revenue’s written examinations.

Explora Teens

Discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health and sports.

Financial Literacy

Makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest, plan for college and retirement, and avoid fraud and schemes.

Flipster

Full color, interactive digital magazines with no holds and no checkout periods. 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

A general encyclopedia containing over 25,000 information segments appropriate for the research needs of elementary and middle school students.

Gale eBooks

eBooks on a variety of topics in an easy-to-navigate collection.

Gale General OneFile

General interest periodicals and news, including travel guides, NPR programs, and reference sets on a variety of topics.

Gale Health and Wellness

Consumer health resource providing authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Gale in Context: Biography

People throughout history, around the world, across disciplines and subjects. Search by birth, death, place, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Covers today's hottest social issues from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory

Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Access to a variety of magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, arts, science, popular culture, health, people,  government, history, sports and more.

History Reference Center

Covering both U.S. and world history topics, the database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.

KidsHealth.org (Related Resource)

Four sites in one: with sections for parents, kids, teens and educators, KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.

LearningExpress (at Home)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LearningExpress (in Library)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues dating back to 1917.

National Geographic People Animals and the World

Unlimited access to National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present full-text books on travel, science & technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples & cultures. Readers will also find videos, full-color maps, and hundreds of National Geographic images.

OverDrive

Fiction and nonfiction ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more. To read online download or stream to your device using the Libby app.

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

Rosetta Stone

Provides online language learning in an immersion environment, accessible anywhere and at any time on mobile and on the web.

Note: To use the mobile app:

  1. Download the app from your app store, but do not open it.
  2. Login to Rosetta Stone on your device, using this link.
  3. Once you're logged in, tap Launch Rosetta Stone Foundations and the app will automatically open.  

If you ever want to switch your language or view your progress reports, you will need to go through the library’s Rosetta Stone button.

Science Reference Center

Search magazine & reference articles, experiments, biographies, images & videos on various science topics, including more than 275,000 high-quality science images from National Geographic, UPI, Getty, NASA and Nature Picture Library.

Teen Health and Wellness

Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying and LGBTQ+ information. It has recently been updated to meet the needs of today’s teens and with new content on bullying, suicide, vaping, opioid abuse, gender identity, school safety, sexual harassment, COVID-19 and more.

Vidcode

With Vidcode, you’ll learn to code while creating amazing visual projects like meme makers, Snapchat filters, and video games! First time users will need to request an account (link below). Once you have your account, click the Vidcode link to login and get started!

World Book Advanced

A powerful reference tool designed for high school students and adults. (Optimized for tablets)

World Book Student

Meets the research needs of students in primary/elementary and middle school with thousands of articles and multimedia. (Optimized for tablets.)

World Book Timelines

Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history. (Optimized for tablets.) 

World Book World Resources

World Book Atlas, Interactive Maps, and Compare Places.

Technology

Computer Skills Center

LearningExpress Computer Skills are dynamic, online, multimedia tutorials that help students learn the fundamentals of the computer, the internet and popular software from Adobe, Microsoft and Windows.

ConsumerReports.org

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips, and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.

DigitalLearn.org (Related Resource)

If you are new to computers, haven’t used them for a while or are a little unsure and uncomfortable, DigitalLearn has the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.

Gale Courses

Available 24/7, Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month and lessons are assigned twice a week.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

Information on computer-related product introductions; news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Gale OneFile: Information Science

Provides access to content essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers with topics covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology including usability, metadata architecture, publishing, business information, and more.

GCFLearnFree (Related Resource)

Build your future. Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life.

LearningExpress (at Home)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LearningExpress (in Library)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Provides indexing and abstracting coverage of topics that include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management, among others.

LinkedIn Learning

Leading online learning company that helps anyone develop the business, software, technology, and creative skills needed to achieve personal and professional goals. Please note: if you're using the app, our library ID is stchlibrary.

Niche Academy

Niche Academy is an online learning platform that  includes ready-to-use tutorials for common library services like OverDrive, Hoopla, Flipster, and more!

Vidcode

With Vidcode, you’ll learn to code while creating amazing visual projects like meme makers, Snapchat filters, and video games! First time users will need to request an account (link below). Once you have your account, click the Vidcode link to login and get started!

Wirecutter (Related Resource)

A list of the best gear and gadgets for people who want to save the time and stress of figuring out what to buy. Recommendations are made through a combination of vigorous reporting, interviewing, and testing by teams of veteran journalists, scientists, and researchers independent of commissions or other revenue.

Test Prep & Careers

Brainfuse JobNow

Provides users with a host of services to help in every step of the job search process including job searching, resume template, professional resume review, and live interview coaching.

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

Brainfuse VetNow

Supports veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. 

To use the Brainfuse app:

  1. Login to Brainfuse on your mobile device, using the Library link.
  2. Once logged in, look for the menu with your account information in the upper right corner of the Brainfuse site. 
  3. Select My Account. You should see instructions for accessing Brainfuse from the app along with a QR code
  4. Download the app to your device and follow the above access instructions under Your Account.

CareerOneStop (Related Resource)

Your source for career exploration, training & jobs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Driving-Tests.org

Free practice tests for MO Department of Revenue’s written examinations.

Gale Courses

Available 24/7, Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month and lessons are assigned twice a week.

GCFLearnFree (Related Resource)

Build your future. Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life.

GotResumeBuilder

Library partner site provides professionally designed resume templates and online context-sensitive writing tips. Resumes are hosted, allowing you to share it both online and on social media.

LearningExpress (at Home)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LearningExpress (in Library)

Provides elementary students to adult learners with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. 

LinkedIn Learning

Leading online learning company that helps anyone develop the business, software, technology, and creative skills needed to achieve personal and professional goals. Please note: if you're using the app, our library ID is stchlibrary.

Read It!

Read It! ELL content covers a wide range of subject areas including science, math, history, culture, civics, literature and life skills. ELL articles are written specifically for English Language Learners.

Reference Solutions

Provides profiles of public and private company and individual residence information, including information on 675,000 doctors and 180,000 dentists. Combines the power of the premier business reference and research tool with the world's #1 job site, indeed.com.

Resume and Cover Letter Builder

These step-by-step builders will help you create effective cover letters and resumes that get you noticed.

Travel & Geography

ConsumerReports.org

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips, and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.

Gale General OneFile

General interest periodicals and news, including travel guides, NPR programs, and reference sets on a variety of topics.

National Geographic People Animals and the World

Unlimited access to National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present full-text books on travel, science & technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples & cultures. Readers will also find videos, full-color maps, and hundreds of National Geographic images.

Telling All Americans' Stories (Related Resource)

A celebration of history and culture across the United States. Discover national parks, heritage areas, historic places and more along with guides to plan your travel and lesson plans to teach and learn.